Tags

, , , ,

We worked on writing exercises today, focussing specifically on character development. I don’t remember the exact wording, but the gist of our prompt was “Write a story about a character who obsessively collects things, and an event where this obsession gets them in trouble.” Our teacher then guided us by asking questions such as, “what do they collect?” “Why do they collect it?” and my favourite, “What would they do if someone stole from their collection?” And then we had about fifteen minutes to sit and write.

Long story short, I think I’ve found the narrator for the historical treatises I want to write as part of my worldbuilding, and possibly a main character for a future novel. Her name is Katria Bala; she’s a priestess at a Temple of Knowledge– an archaeist, essentially an archaeologist and museum curator rolled into one. She collects ancient magical artefacts as a way of proving a long-held, academically-unacceptable theory. Confident in her own knowledge, sometimes bordering on arrogant. Also she has a dog.

The other excellent thing was that I was working on a really neat map all through class, so I have a pretty good idea of the basic politics of the world– at least something to go on. And over the course of the writing exercise, I had to start coming up with bits of culture, so I have a foundation there as well.

For a day that started out with me sitting in my car playing The Sims, it’s turned out pretty productive.

